Connect with us


Warriors Gear Up For NEWS 2019

The Victorian Pride Warriors team of 2019 have finalised their preparations for the 34th National Electric Wheelchair Sports (NEWS) event in Sydney next week, April 15th – 19th. The competition will feature teams from New South Wales, South Australia and Western Australia.

This year, NEWS has introduced Powerchair Football into the competition which has replaced Balloon Soccer.

Players from our Victorian Powerchair Sports League (VPSL) were selected in a team consisting of 6 players. All 6 players will represent Victoria in Powerchair Hockey, Powerchair Football and Rugby League. The team will welcome back Jules North-Coombes who returns from retirement. Luke David retains the Captaincy while Shaun Mott will take the Vice-Captain role for a second year in a row.

The following players have been selected in the team: *Games played for Victoria at NEWS

  1. Michael Murdaca (69 Games)
  2. Jules North-Coombes (161 Games )
  3. Luke David (206 Games)
  4. Shaun Mott (24 Games)
  5. Daniel Maugeri (12 Games)
  6. Josh Rycken (86 Games)

Emergency Players: Craig Kilby, Julia Svaganovic

Head Coaches: Luke David & Rebecca Gulle

Team Manager: Adam Lloyd

What the coaches had to say:

Luke David: Everyone in the squad has trained hard over the last couple of months, in recent years we haven’t had the opportunity to train as a team prior to the competition so it has been great for us as a group to really work on our game plans. We chose the squad based on performances in all three sports throughout the VPSL season and it was really encouraging to see how well everyone played at Pride Cup 2019. I believe we have a squad that will be competitive in all three sports next week and I look forward to seeing how we match up against the other states.


Rebecca Gulle: It has been great to watch the senior and junior members of the club come together to train for this competition. The team comradery is at its peak and hopefully that shows at this competition.

Warriors NEWS 2019 Fixture

Warriors NEWS 2019 Fixture – Victorian Pride Warriors proudly sponsored by Pride Mobility Australia, Support Your Way & Motion Wheelchairs


All Victorian Pride Warrior matches will be livestreamed through the VEWSA Facebook Page:

Victoria at National Electric Wheelchair Sports:

  • ’86, ’87, ’91, ’96, ’97, ’98, ’02, ’10, ’12, 16′ Roger Melnyk Winners
  • ’86, ’87, ’88, ’89, ’90, ’91, ’92, ’93, ’94, ’95, ’96, ’97, ’98, ’99, ’00, ’01, ’02, ’04, ’05, ’08, ’10, ’12, ’13, 16′, 17′ Hockey Champions
  • ’04, ’09 Balloon Soccer Champions
  • ’18, Powerchair Hockey Champions