Connect with us

Balloon Soccer

Victorian Warriors 2018 Team Announced

We are pleased to announce the Victorian Warriors team for the 2018 National Electric Wheelchair Sports (NEWS) event to be held in Sydney between April 23rd – 28th. It will be the 33rd National Championships and will feature teams from New South Wales, South Australia, Western Australia and Victoria.

This year, NEWS will introduce Powerchair Hockey into the competition. Powerchair Hockey is a modified version of Ice Hockey for electric wheelchair users. It is commonly known as “Power Hockey”. The sport is played on an indoor basketball court with a rink surrounding the court. There are two teams of five players. The game was birthed in Europe by accident in the 1970’s and although it has been played in New South Wales for many years, it is only just starting to reach other states around the country. The Victorian Warriors have had a brilliant record in the previous version of Hockey and will aim to continue their impressive record in Powerchair Hockey.

Players from our Summer Season were selected in a team consisting of 6 players. All 6 players will represent Victoria in Powerchair Hockey, Balloon Soccer and Rugby League. The team will feature two new debutantes, with Daniel Maugeri and Ryan Deayton getting their first games for Victoria under their belts. Luke David retains the Captaincy while Michael Murdaca and Shaun Mott will share the Vice-Captain role.

The following players have been selected in the team.

  1. Luke David (194 Games)
  2. Michael Murdaca (102 Games)
  3. Josh Rycken (89 Games)
  4. Shaun Mott (12 Games)
  5. Daniel Maugeri (Debut)
  6. Ryan Deayton (Debut)

Should nothing change before the competition, Luke David (200 Games) and Josh Rycken (100 Games) will reach new milestones in Games Played at National Electric Wheelchair Sports. Three players from the squad will also be trying out the Australian Powerchair Hockey team to compete at the World Championships in Italy later this year. We wish them and the team the best of luck!

Head Coach: Hans Boers
Assistant Coach: Rebecca Gulle & Luke David

Victorian Warriors

Victorian Warriors proudly sponsored by Pride Mobility, Motion Wheelchairs, SuperSealing, Muscular Dystrophy Australia

Victoria at National Electric Wheelchair Sports:

  • ’86, ’87, ’91, ’96, ’97, ’98, ’02, ’10, ’12, 16′ Roger Melnyk Winners
  • ’86, ’87, ’88, ’89, ’90, ’91, ’92, ’93, ’94, ’95, ’96, ’97, ’98, ’99, ’00, ’01, ’02, ’04, ’05, ’08, ’10, ’12, ’13, 16′, 17′ Hockey Champions
  • ’04, ’09 Balloon Soccer Champions

For more information, email