Connect with us


NEWS 2018 Recap

Our state representative team Victorian Warriors returned home from the 33rd National Electric Wheelchair Sports (N.E.W.S) event held in Sydney over the past week.

Day 1 | Balloon Soccer
WA 2 def. VIC 1
VIC 3 def. SA 2
VIC 4 def. NSW 2

Day 2 | Rugby League
VIC 20 def. SA 14
NSW 36 def. VIC 14
VIC 30 def. WA 16

Day 3 | Powerchair Hockey
VIC 5 def. SA 0
VIC 4 def. WA 1
NSW 3 def. VIC 1

Day 4 | APCHA Nationals
NSW 6 def. VIC 5
VIC 3 def. WA 1
VIC 9 def. SA 2
Grand Final: NSW 7 def. VIC 4

Day 6 | Grand Finals
Balloon Soccer: WA 2 def. VIC 2 (Penalties 2 – 0)
Rugby League: NSW 38 def. VIC 12
Powerchair Hockey: VIC 4 def. NSW 1

Victoria won the first ever Powerchair Hockey Championship at NEWS and came runners up in Balloon Soccer, Rugby League and the inaugural Australian Powerchair Hockey Association NSW Incorporated.Nationals. It was a nail-biting finish in the Balloon Soccer final as both teams scored in extra-time taking the match to a penalty shootout. The Rugby League final was a different story, Victoria started off well but quickly lost control in the 2nd half with New South Wales taking out their 10th consecutive championship comfortably.

Victorian Warriors 2018 – Powerchair Hockey Champions

Congratulations to Luke David and Shaun Mott on making the Australian Powerchair Hockey team! They’ll compete against the World’s best at the World Championships held in Italy later this year. This is the first time Victoria is represented on the powerchair sports world stage. Luke David was also nominated and accepted as National Director of National Electric Wheelchair Sports. Next year’s event will see Powerchair Football replace Balloon Soccer and for the first time in N.E.W.S 33 year history, the inclusion of athletes without neuromuscular disorders. The eligibility change will only allow one player per team and must fit the classification.

Shaun Mott & Luke David selected for Australian Powerchair Hockey Team

Head Coach, Hans Boers became the record holder for most games coached at NEWS with 282 matches over 16 years. While Luke David passed his 200 game milestone and Josh Rycken passed 100 games. Daniel Maugeri and Ryan Deayton both made their debuts for Victoria. Assistant Coach, Rebecca Gulle had debuts as coach and referee. Congratulations to all!

Thank you to our sponsors, Pride Mobility, Motion Wheelchairs and Super Sealing for their amazing support. Also to our support crew and carers who attended the week and helped our players participate. Congratulations to our Victorian team for a fantastic effort in all three sports. Congratulations to all participating teams and players. Thank you to all the organisers and volunteers who helped make this week what it was. See you all again in 2019!

Rugby League: New South Wales
Balloon Soccer: Western Australia
Powerchair Hockey: Victoria
Roger Melnyk Trophy: New South Wales

Individual Victorian Awards:
Best & Fairest: Luke David
Players’ Player: Luke David
Rookie of the Year: Ryan Deayton
All-Australian Selection: Luke David (Captain), Shaun Mott