Connect with us


N.E.W.S 2015 Report

National Electric Wheelchair Sports (N.E.W.S) Report

On Saturday, 18th of April at Sydney Academy of Sport, the Victoria Pride Warriors battled their way it into the Hockey and Balloon Soccer Grand Finals for the National Electric Wheelchair Sports event.

Victoria were defeated in Balloon Soccer to the undefeated Queensland Gladiators, 4 to 0. In the Hockey final against NSW, the game went into extra-time after a last gasp equaliser from Victoria. Unfortunately, NSW regrouped and put immense pressure on the Victorian team, taking out the trophy for a second year in a row, winning 7 to 4. In Rugby League, NSW once again dominated the competition, defeating QLD, 18 to 0 in the final. Victoria were the only team to score against NSW for the whole Rugby League competition.

Our own, Luke David was selected in the All-Australian team as Vice-Captain. Victorians, Andrew Brandreth, Jules North-Coombes and Dominic Renye made the All-Stars team for Hockey.

The team did their absolute best and VEWSA is very proud of their efforts. A tough preseason awaits and the Mighty Victoria Pride Warriors will be back bigger and better in 2016.

We would like to thank our sponsors, Pride Mobility, Motion Wheelchairs, Super Sealing and Muscular Dystrophy Australia for supporting our players and support crew.

This year was the 30th Anniversary of the National Electric Wheelchair Sports. We would like to congratulate Hans Boers on the magnificent achievement of being the only person to have attended all 30 events. A big thank you goes out to Hans for all the hard work he does for Nationals and VEWSA. His achievement was celebrated by all states on the presentation night, where Luke David, current President of VEWSA read out a testimonial for Hans. The hosts, NSW also surprised Hans with a cake and photobook. For full results from all matches and awesome photos, visit our Facebook and Instagram.





Balloon Soccer Queensland Victoria New South Wales
Hockey New South Wales Victoria South Australia
Rugby (Touch) New South Wales South Australia Western Australia

Victoria Best and Fairest:

Andrew Brandreth

All Australian Team:

Luke David (Vice-Captain)

All Stars Team:

Andrew Brandreth, Jules North-Coombes, Dominic Renye

By Luke David